Welcome To Pro9 - Europe

  Create An Account Home  ·  Topics  ·  Stats  ·  Your Account  ·  Submit News  ·  Top 10 December 11, 2019  

  The Pro Shop


NEW: Buy 2 items (or more) and get a free upgrade to 1st Class UK postage.

Molinari GRP
Silicone Grip


New "Ultra"
White Diamond


Tournament BLACK
Pre-Order Now!


Predator 25th Anniversary
Limited Edition 1


Predator 25th Anniversary
Limited Edition 2


Exceed X-Chalk
Pre-Order


Ignite 12.2 Shaft
Pre-Order


3 Cue Q-Claw
Now in 7 colours!


OB
8 Inch Extension


Kamui
Chalk Shark


Arcos II Balls
from Predator


*** NEWS FLASH *** Used Cyclop Zeus Pool Balls - ex-pro tour, only used 1 season, in excellent condition, limited stock, only available for 24 hours, price includes UK delivery, or deliver to Europe for extra £13, save £55 per set, do not miss this great opportunity. Order now.
USED BALLS


NEW: Predator QR2
12 Inch Extender


Aramith Pro Cup
TV Ball Set


Balls Now In Stock
Duramith Tournament
Next Day Delivery


Cyclop Hyperion
GB9 2019 Balls


Brunswick Centennials
Precision balanced


Ballsak - Pro
Cue Ball Case


Ballsak - Sport
Cue Ball Case


Ballsak
Cue Ball Case

Hard Ball Case
2¬ľ inch balls


Acrylic Ball Marker
New Improved Design



Aramith
Billiard Ball Cleaner


Super Aramith
Pro Cup English


Aramith
Billiard Ball Restorer


Outsville Rack
GB9 Special Offer


Predator
Roadline LE9


Predator
Roadline LE8


Predator
Roadline LE7


Predator
BK-Rush Sports Wrap


Predator
BK-Rush No Wrap


Predator
Cue Holder


Series Update:
Predator 9K-1


Series Update:
Predator 9K-2


Series Update:
Predator 9K-3


Exceed
2 Inch Extender


Exceed
4 Inch Extender


Predator
Panthera4-1


Predator
Panthera4-2


Poison Armor2
2x4 Hard Case


Poison VX4
Jump Cue - Red


Poison VX4
Jump Cue - White


Poison VX5
Jump/Break - Green


New Blak Series
Predator Blak4-5


New Blak Series
Predator Blak4-4


New Blak Series
Predator Blak4-3


New Blak Series
Predator Blak4-2


New Blak Series
Predator Blak4-1


Phantom
Budget Jump/Break


Pechauer P10-H
Pro Series Cue


Poison VX BRK
White Break Cue


Poison VX BRK
Black Break Cue


Predator RoadLine
8 Point Sneaky Pete


Predator RoadLine
8 Point Sneaky Pete


Second Skin Gloves
Red / Yellow / Blue


Cynergy 15K Shaft
Carbon Composite


Mezz Ace 18
Order Now!


Predator Revo
Buy 12.9mm Now!


Mini 3 Inch
Predator QR Extension


New Mezz Jump
Air Drive II


New Predator Case
Urbain Series 3x5 H


New Predator Case
Urbain Series 2x4 H


New Predator Case
Urbain Series 2x4 S


Poison
Cue Towel


REVO Wipes
5 Pack


Balabushka
GB23


Balabushka
GB8


Balabushka
GB5


Balabushka
GB3


Balabushka
GB1


EXCEED ARMOR
Joint Protectors


Poison Cues
Cyanide 3-1


Poison Cues
Cyanide 3-2


Poison Cues
Cyanide 3-3


Poison Cues
Cyanide 3-4


Predator Roadline
Soft Case 4x8


Predator Sport 2
Stratos Wrap


Predator Sport 2
Stratos No Wrap


Kamui Roku
Order Now


Buffalo 6x12
Monster Cue Case


Instroke 4x8 Case
Soft-Side Leather


Power Rack
One 4 All


Perfect Practice
Darren Appleton


Now in Stock!
Molinari Gloves


Mezz MA-FK
Masse Cue


Molinari CHLK
Back in Stock!


Tip Fitting...
By Post!


Q-Wiz
Top Seller - Cue Care


Diamond
Pro-Am Table


Diamond
Professional Table

Tiger
Everest Tip


Tiger
Sniper Tip


Tiger
Onyx Tip


Tiger
Emerald Tip


Tiger
IceBreaker2 J/B


New Predator
Ice2 Sport Wrap


New Predator
Ice2 Sport No Wrap


Kamui Snooker Tip
Original 11mm


Kamui Snooker Tip
Black 11mm


Predator
8K Series


Predator
314-3 Shaft


Predator
Z-3 Shaft


Weight Bolts
CueTec/Scorpion


JP Caddy
with Carabiner Clip


Tip Protectors
For 12.75mm Ferrule


ANDY 988
Pool Table Cloth


ANDY 588
Pool Table Cloth


J&J 3x5 Cue Case
Kickstand and Wheels


New Predator Glove
Predator Second Skin


Tiger Glove
Tournament Series


Mezz Cue Towel
In Stock Now


ProShot Glove
In Stock Now


Mezz
Alpha Hybrid Shaft


ProPockets
Back in stock!

Mezz Case
6 Butts 10 Shafts


New from OB
DigiCue BLUE


Mezz TB-17
New Travel Bag


New OB Extension
Pre-Order Now!


Mezz SKR
Snooker Series



Chalk Pouch
Back in stock!


New Product
Jacoby Masse Cue


New Product
Mezz Pro Extension


New Jump Cue
Florian Kohler


OB-170
New Cue Listed


Order NOW!
RB1 Limited Edition


OB-160
New Range


New Bear
Break / Jump Cue


Talisman
1 x Trinity Tip


Talisman
25 x Trinity Tips


McDermott
Junior Cues


Poison
Arsenic3-1


Poison
Arsenic3-2


Poison
Arsenic3-3


Poison
Arsenic3-4


Poison
Arsenic3-5


Poison
Arsenic3-6


Replacement Blade
Porper Cut Rite


Predator
Panthera3-1


Best Tip Tool
Big Shaver


Predator
Ikon3-1


Predator
Ikon3-2


Predator
Ikon3-3


Predator
Ikon3-4


Predator
Ikon3-5


NEW
Mezz GMC-35


Simonis 760
Orig. Worsted Blend


Mezz SA-14
Limited Edition


Simonis X-1
Now back in stock!


Dufferin
Cue Weight Set



TheProShop.biz
Free Post in Europe!
Order now!

  Main Menu

UK 8 Ball
Topic: IPT Rule quiz


Search Forums

Moderated By: BigDave, Pro9Goddess
Pro9 - Europe's No.1 Pool Player Resource Forum Index
  »» UK 8 Ball
    »» IPT Rule quiz

Please Register To Post

Page 1 Of 3



Go To Page: 1 · 2 · 3  
Jump To Page:

Author IPT Rule quiz

Riggers
Home away from home
Joined: 30-Mar-2006
Posts: 4454
From: Barnsley (centre of the universe)


uk    avatar

posticon   Posted: 2006-05-03 13:34

Ok here's your starter for 10:

Facts:
- You are on stripes
- The 1 ball is hanging over the corner pocket with the 10 ball directly in front of it
- You call the 10 into the pocket, which is covered by the 1
- You play the cue ball onto the 10 which hits the 1 (hoping that the 10 follows it in)
- The 1 falls in but the 10 stops on the lip
- No ball contacts a rail

Question:
According to the rules is this is foul?

Answer coming soon! :-)




  Member Information For RiggersProfile   Send Private Message To Riggers   Go To Riggers's Website   Quote And Reply To This MessageQuote

bruno
Home away from home
Joined: 14-Mar-2006
Posts: 673
From: Aberdeen, Scotland


scotland    avatar

posticon   Posted: 2006-05-03 15:37

I would say if you were on stripes and you potted a spot, then it would be an automatic foul whether you called the 10 ball or not.

Unless it was the first shot after the break where it is still an open table until the first ball is potted after the break.

:-?



  Member Information For brunoProfile   Send Private Message To bruno   Go To bruno's Website   Quote And Reply To This MessageQuote

Riggers
Home away from home
Joined: 30-Mar-2006
Posts: 4454
From: Barnsley (centre of the universe)


uk    avatar

posticon   Posted: 2006-05-03 15:52

On 2006-05-03 15:37 , bruno Wrote:

!!! QUOTE !!!

I would say if you were on stripes and you potted a spot, then it would be an automatic foul...
:-?

Without giving away the answer the first part of your answer (quoted above) is not correct. That's more akin to the rules of english pool, not american.




  Member Information For RiggersProfile   Send Private Message To Riggers   Go To Riggers's Website   Quote And Reply To This MessageQuote

bruno
Home away from home
Joined: 14-Mar-2006
Posts: 673
From: Aberdeen, Scotland


scotland    avatar

posticon   Posted: 2006-05-03 15:56

I must be thick then....

:-D



  Member Information For brunoProfile   Send Private Message To bruno   Go To bruno's Website   Quote And Reply To This MessageQuote

Buckster_uk
Moderators
Joined: 15-Mar-2006
Posts: 1967
From: Surrey


uk    avatar

posticon   Posted: 2006-05-03 16:10

Using my limited knowledge of IPT rules, I would say yeah it is a foul, in normal play.

Judging by the comment in brackets, I am guessing this is at the open table stage? If it is, erm, I dunno lol. Maybe it isn't a foul at the open table stage.



  Member Information For Buckster_ukProfile   Send Private Message To Buckster_uk   Quote And Reply To This MessageQuote

Goon
Quite a regular
Joined: 19-Mar-2006
Posts: 42
From: Mars


uk    avatar

posticon   Posted: 2006-05-03 16:14

On 2006-05-03 13:34 , Riggers Wrote:

!!! QUOTE !!!

Ok here's your starter for 10:

Facts:
- You are on stripes
- The 1 ball is hanging over the corner pocket with the 10 ball directly in front of it
- You call the 10 into the pocket, which is covered by the 1
- You play the cue ball onto the 10 which hits the 1 (hoping that the 10 follows it in)
- The 1 falls in but the 10 stops on the lip
- No ball contacts a rail

Question:
According to the rules is this is foul?

Answer coming soon! :-)

I would think no foul as a ball has been potted and its just loss of turn..




  Member Information For GoonProfile   Send Private Message To Goon   Send AIM Meesage To Goon   Quote And Reply To This MessageQuote

bruno
Home away from home
Joined: 14-Mar-2006
Posts: 673
From: Aberdeen, Scotland


scotland    avatar

posticon   Posted: 2006-05-03 16:33

Goon, you have to call a safety shot to prevent it being a foul.

Come on Riggers, is this your own rules you're coming away with here?

Spill the beans man!!

:-D :-D



  Member Information For brunoProfile   Send Private Message To bruno   Go To bruno's Website   Quote And Reply To This MessageQuote

Goon
Quite a regular
Joined: 19-Mar-2006
Posts: 42
From: Mars


uk    avatar

posticon   Posted: 2006-05-03 16:50

Bruno, I think the issue here is about a ball contacting a rail! its not a foul to pot your opponents ball and not one of your own, just loss of turn....



  Member Information For GoonProfile   Send Private Message To Goon   Send AIM Meesage To Goon   Quote And Reply To This MessageQuote

poolshark
Just can't stay away
Joined: 13-Mar-2006
Posts: 105
From: derry city, n.ireland


blank    avatar

posticon   Posted: 2006-05-03 17:15

its just loss of shot isnt it?



  Member Information For poolsharkProfile   Send Private Message To poolshark   Quote And Reply To This MessageQuote

TheSurgeon
Home away from home
Joined: 13-Mar-2006
Posts: 529
From: Leeds


poland    avatar

posticon   Posted: 2006-05-03 17:31

If I am on stripes (fact), I must pot a stripe otherwise I lose control of the table, unless I call safe. However, I've called a shot, not made it and nothing has hit a rail, it is a foul and my opponent gets cue ball in hand.

I think....



  Member Information For TheSurgeonProfile   Send Private Message To TheSurgeon   Send Email To TheSurgeon   Go To TheSurgeon's Website   Quote And Reply To This MessageQuote

Blue_Suede
Just can't stay away
Joined: 14-Mar-2006
Posts: 121


scotland30    avatar

posticon   Posted: 2006-05-03 23:15

If, as the question states, the 10-ball is called, then it would be a foul, regardless of whether a rail was hit. So that would be loss of turn and ball in hand to the opponent.

If, however, the shooter called 'safety', then it would only mean loss of turn. ie. no ball in hand - the opponent would have to shoot from where the cueball lay. Again, it is not important that a rail was not hit.

Had the shooter potted both the 10 & the 1-ball, he would continue his visit to the table.

I think.

BS



  Member Information For Blue_SuedeProfile   Send Private Message To Blue_Suede   Send Email To Blue_Suede   Quote And Reply To This MessageQuote

Riggers
Home away from home
Joined: 30-Mar-2006
Posts: 4454
From: Barnsley (centre of the universe)


uk    avatar

posticon   Posted: 2006-05-04 00:09

Ok Goon and TheSurgeon were right. I suspect many people who know IPT rules quite well would have said it was just loss of turn. That would be the case if a ball had hit the rail. If you haven't legally potted the called ball in the called pocket you must hit a rail or it's a foul.

There were some other misconceptions posted too so I'll try and clear them up.

Calling safety or not calling safety will never be the difference between a shot being a foul or not. All the same rules apply when a player calls safety (e.g. it doesn't allow you to play an illegal shot and get away with it). Calling safety is simply the player saying that even if he pots the obvious ball in the obvious pocket (in this case it can be deemed the called shot) he is relinquishing his visit and handing over control. That's ALL safety means.

The other misconception is that it's a foul to pot your oponents ball. This alone is NEVER a foul providing you hit one of your own suits first.

[ This message was edited by: Riggers on 2006-05-04 00:23 ]



  Member Information For RiggersProfile   Send Private Message To Riggers   Go To Riggers's Website   Quote And Reply To This MessageQuote

cusack_147
Home away from home
Joined: 17-Mar-2006
Posts: 991
From: Southport


uk    avatar

posticon   Posted: 2006-05-04 08:13

Is it still ok to pot the opponents ball even if yours doesn't go in?



  Member Information For cusack_147Profile   Send Private Message To cusack_147   Send Email To cusack_147   cusack_147's MSNM Number Is markhop147@hotmail.com   Quote And Reply To This MessageQuote

Riggers
Home away from home
Joined: 30-Mar-2006
Posts: 4454
From: Barnsley (centre of the universe)


uk    avatar

posticon   Posted: 2006-05-04 09:44

On 2006-05-04 08:13 , cusack_147 Wrote:

!!! QUOTE !!!

Is it still ok to pot the opponents ball even if yours doesn't go in?

Yes it is. As long as you hit your own ball first, hit a rail, and don't pot the 8 ball prematurely there is no way you can foul (except obvious stuff like scratching, ball off table, shirt touching ball etc).




  Member Information For RiggersProfile   Send Private Message To Riggers   Go To Riggers's Website   Quote And Reply To This MessageQuote

bruno
Home away from home
Joined: 14-Mar-2006
Posts: 673
From: Aberdeen, Scotland


scotland    avatar

posticon   Posted: 2006-05-04 09:53

I think I'll stick to 9 ball...
Rules are pretty straightforward.

:-D



  Member Information For brunoProfile   Send Private Message To bruno   Go To bruno's Website   Quote And Reply To This MessageQuote

pooljedi
Home away from home
Joined: 18-Apr-2006
Posts: 293
From: Preston


ireland    avatar

posticon   Posted: 2006-05-04 11:18

so just to make sure ive got this right, you can pot there balls at any time as long as u hit your own ball first and something touches a cushion. if you pot your own ball i take it you dont have to hit a cushion, and on a foul you dont get two visits but ball in hand anywhere on the table. is there anything else weird i need to know about.



  Member Information For pooljediProfile   Send Private Message To pooljedi   Send Email To pooljedi   Quote And Reply To This MessageQuote

Riggers
Home away from home
Joined: 30-Mar-2006
Posts: 4454
From: Barnsley (centre of the universe)


uk    avatar

posticon   Posted: 2006-05-04 12:03

On 2006-05-04 11:18 , pooljedi Wrote:

!!! QUOTE !!!

so just to make sure ive got this right, you can pot there balls at any time as long as u hit your own ball first and something touches a cushion. if you pot your own ball i take it you dont have to hit a cushion, and on a foul you dont get two visits but ball in hand anywhere on the table. is there anything else weird i need to know about.


Right so far. As far as 'anything else wierd you need to know about'... Here's a few other key points:

- 5 balls must hit a rail off the break
- You can't break from the sides, you have to stay between the 2 diamonds on the back rail.
- It's always an open table after the break regardless of what balls are potted - you are on a ball when you legally pot a called ball into a called pocket. When it's an open table you have the added luxury of being able to call say a stripe and hit a solid on to it to pot the stripe. Then you are on stripes from then on.
- Potting the 8 off the break wins the game
- Potting the 8 prematurely, in the wrong pocket, when scratching, or when making any other foul is loss of game
- You can't use jump cues but you can use a jump/break cue providing you don't remove the butt.
- On the EPT Phenolic tips are allowed but on the IPT they must be leather.




  Member Information For RiggersProfile   Send Private Message To Riggers   Go To Riggers's Website   Quote And Reply To This MessageQuote

malaguista
Home away from home
Joined: 14-Mar-2006
Posts: 1176
From: Spain


spain    avatar

posticon   Posted: 2006-05-04 16:39

WPA rules allow you to pot an opponent's ball using one of your own in combination, there is no neccesity to hit a rail as well.
I am not convinced that you can't do the same in IPT.



  Member Information For malaguistaProfile   Send Private Message To malaguista   Go To malaguista's Website   Quote And Reply To This MessageQuote

Riggers
Home away from home
Joined: 30-Mar-2006
Posts: 4454
From: Barnsley (centre of the universe)


uk    avatar

posticon   Posted: 2006-05-04 17:23

On 2006-05-04 16:39 , malaguista Wrote:

!!! QUOTE !!!

WPA rules allow you to pot an opponent's ball using one of your own in combination, there is no neccesity to hit a rail as well.
I am not convinced that you can't do the same in IPT.

According to the rules on their web site if you don't pot the called ball into the called pocket you must hit a rail or it's a foul. So can you call your opponents ball and play it as a type of safety shot? Remember, calling safety is not the answer as that doesn't allow you to foul. The question is whether the called ball in this case can you your opponents ball.




  Member Information For RiggersProfile   Send Private Message To Riggers   Go To Riggers's Website   Quote And Reply To This MessageQuote

malaguista
Home away from home
Joined: 14-Mar-2006
Posts: 1176
From: Spain


spain    avatar

posticon   Posted: 2006-05-04 17:45

It is not clear if you can call your opponent's ball or not.
The rule says that you have to call the object ball but it doesn't distinguish between your's or your opponents.
[ This message was edited by: malaguista on 2006-05-04 17:45 ]



  Member Information For malaguistaProfile   Send Private Message To malaguista   Go To malaguista's Website   Quote And Reply To This MessageQuote

Moderated By: BigDave, Pro9Goddess
Pro9 - Europe's No.1 Pool Player Resource Forum Index
  »» UK 8 Ball
    »» IPT Rule quiz

Please Register To Post

Page 1 Of 3



Go To Page: 1 · 2 · 3  
Jump To Page:


Member Messages

Forum Search & Navigation


 

Log in to check your private messages



Please Login Or Register





  


 

[ Advanced Search ]

Jump To Forum: 


PRO9 has established an outstanding reputation as Europe's No.1 source for information on American Pool in the UK and Europe. Upcoming tournament details, prompt match reporting, exclusive images by talented photographers, superb articles by expert pundits, active pool related forums, player profiles and a very sophisticated membership - basically, an incredible information resource for the American style game in Europe. Since it launched, PRO9 has become compulsory reading, not just for the UK's pool players, but to hundreds and thousands of pool obsessives from around the world every single day. PRO9's members range from professional pool players, cue-sports enthusiasts, club managers, tournament organisers, pool fans and aficionados, as well as various "movers and shakers" in the cue-sports field, including entrepreneurs in the wholesale and retail sector, as well as magazine editors and television sports promoters. Growing more and more popular every single year, PRO9 is the best placed vehicle for the promotion of your pool club, billiards brand, associated products, services and opportunities in the truly massive pan-European billiard market. If you're reading this, you should check out www.Pro9.co.uk for yourself! Please use these logos and text in your links to www.Pro9.co.uk - thank you.

Forum rules: No advertising, no links to businesses/shops/eBay, no swearing, respect our sponsors and each other, no hate!

Flag Counter
Flag counter installed Monday 11 November 2013


All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest ÔŅĹ 2006/2007 by Big Dave at Pro9.co.uk.

This web site was made with myPHPNuke, a web portal system written in PHP.
myPHPNuke is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.

I didn't think anyone read this bit down here!!!


You can syndicate our news using the file
backend.php or ultramode.txt


  
















































Page took 0.035751 seconds to load.